358 Main Street, Parrsboro, Nova Scotia, Canada B0M 1S0

The house was built in 1890 by David A. Huntley, merchant and lumberman, on land purchased from Hugh McGilvray (land originally owner by the Davison family). It was retained in the Huntley family until 1908 and it is said the first telephone exchange in Parrsboro was located in this dwelling and operated by David’s wife, Josephine. Lumberman and trader Albert C. Elderkin became the next owner, and then the house was sold again in 1937 by his wife Lucy to Maureen Gillespie, wife of Harry. Since leaving the Gillespie family in 1976 the property was owned by Stephen M. O’Regan, Sylvie Bertin, Lowell and Geraldine Phillips and Shirley Cormier. Shirley Cormier purchased the property in 1990 and established the Gillespie House Bed and Breakfast which she operated until June of 1997 when Lori Lynch and David Beattie acquired the property. In 2003 significant expansion and renovations were completed transforming Gillespie House Inn into a 4-star Bed & Breakfast Inn offering 7 comfortable guest rooms, all with private bath. Gillespie House Inn is a member of the Nova Scotia Association of Unique Country Inns and has earned the Recommended Experience designation from the Bay of Fundy Tourism Partnership.

Return Link to Atlantic Canada Cycling Directory
gillespie.jpg 8 years ago
  • You must to post comments
Showing 1 result
Wolfville Ridge, NS, Canada 37.88 km
Bicycle Stuff Bicycle Touring Routes in Nova Scotia Cross Canada Cycling Nordic Tour 1994 (Memori...
PO Box 528 138 Main Street East Stewiacke, NS B0N 2J0 82.25 km
Conveniently located a short distance from the Halifax Nova Scotia International Airport; the Nel...
Hubbards, NS, Canada 87.46 km
Bike tours, walking holidays, sea-kayak trips, and multisport adventures in Canada, Europe, Iceland
209 Sackville Dr. Lower Sackville, NS, Canada B4C 2R5 88.51 km
Sportwheels is a family owned business serving and supporting the community of Halifax for over 6...
Located in Chester, Nova Scotia, this historic bed and breakfast was built in 1902, the same year...
Lombardy Lane Dartmouth, NS B2X 1Z6, Canada 99.78 km
Welcome to the Nova Scotia Ramblers Bicycle Club website! The Ramblers strive to be a very social...
Showing 6 results